Delaware Governor Signs Tobacco 21 Law
Delaware Democrat Governor John Carney has signed a bill raising the legal age to purchase tobacco products in the state from 18 to 21. The bill S.B. 25 was passed by the Delaware House of Representatives earlier this month by a 25-16 vote which was preceded by the senate passing the same bill in mid-March by a 14-6 vote.
Retailers caught selling tobacco products to anyone under 21 will face fines ranging from $250 to $1,000.
The bill will go into effect 90 days from the signing meaning July 16, 2019 you have to be 21 years of age to enjoy a cigar.
Delaware becomes the 11 state to enact a Tobacco 21 joining California, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, Utah, Virginia and Washington in raising the tobacco purchase age to 21. While Maryland and New York have sent bills to the Governors desk in their respective states where they await a Gubernatorial signature or veto.