Hawaii Becomes First State To Go 21
On Friday the Governor of Hawaii, David Ige signed a bill into law that makes Hawaii the first state to change the legal smoke age to 21.
The state senate passed the bill back in April and accord to Ige, “Raising the minimum age as part of our comprehensive tobacco control efforts will help reduce tobacco use among our youth and increase the likelihood that our [children] will grow up tobacco-free“
Violation of the law will result in a $10 fine for the first offense and multiple violations will result in a $50 fine or community service.
Another law was signed that bans smoking in state parks and beaches.