The 2019 Cigar of the Year Is…

This time each year, since 1992, Two Guys Smoke Shop and The Cigar Authority have had the honor of announcing “The Cigar of the Year.”

Today marks 28 years of The Cigar of the Year, an award that has been given out by David Garofalo, owner of Two Guys Smoke Shop, and the host of the award-winning cigar podcast called The Cigar Authority. David explains that his team takes this assignment very seriously, and takes everything into consideration when giving out the award. Availability, consistency, quality and of course flavor and value are what separates a great cigar from a good cigar, and once again, they have a clear winner.

The 2019 “Cigar of the Year”
Nestor Miranda Special Selection

Originally introduced in 2006, the Nestor Miranda Special Selection made it’s return after a lengthy hiatus as part of the 30th Anniversary celebration of Miami Cigar & Company. Featuring the signature burlap on the exterior of the box, the cigar boasts an all Nicaraguan blend consisting of a Habano wrapper, Criollo ’98 binder with fillers from Esteli, Jalapa and Condega.

This medium-full bodied cigar offers a myriad of tasting notes including plum, coffee, brown sugar, dark chocolate along with a touch of white pepper.

The Nestor Miranda Special Selection stood out in a field of 7 cigars where it will be preserved in immortality for cigar smoking generations to come.

Past Winners of The Cigar of the Year include:

  • 1992 Fonseca
  • 1993 Romeo y Julieta Vintage
  • 1994 Butera Royal Vintage
  • 1995 Felipe Gregorio
  • 1996 Puros Indios
  • 1997 La Flor Dominicana
  • 1998 Perdomo La Tradicione Reserve
  • 1999 Indian Tabac
  • 2000 CAO Cameroon
  • 2001 Cusano Corojo
  • 2002 Camacho Diploma
  • 2003 Gurkha Master Selection
  • 2004 Rocky Patel 1990
  • 2005 Cabaiguan
  • 2006 Chateau Real
  • 2007 Cuvee
  • 2008 Esencia
  • 2009 Brick House
  • 2010 22N-83W
  • 2011 ORTSAC
  • 2012 Atabey
  • 2013 Hammer + Sickle Trademark
  • 2014 B.G. Meyer
  • 2015 Recluse Amadeus Habano
  • 2016 La Galera Connecticut
  • 2017 Aladino
  • 2018 AGANORSA LEAF Connecticut
  • 2019 Nestor Miranda Special Selection

Today’s Nestor Miranda Special Selection is handmade in Nicaragua making it the 9th Nicaraguan cigar to reach the top spot in its 28 year history, 11 Dominicans, 7 Hondurans, and 1 Costa Rican cigar have also made it to The Cigar of the Year.

Congratulations to Nestor Miranda, Mariana Miranda, Jason Wood & Tatiana Miranda-Wood along with the entire team at Miami Cigar & Company.

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

%d bloggers like this: