Toughest Outdoor Smoking Ban Set To Begin In New Jersey
Beginning on January 16th the toughest outdoor smoking ban in the USA is set to begin in the Garden State. The new law was signed by Gov. Phil Murphy despite former Governor Chris Christie refusing to sign it throughout his tenure as the Governor.
The new law will make it illegal to smoke cigarettes, cigars, pipes, vapes, and smokeless tobacco devices on beaches and boardwalks in the state of New Jersey In addition is will also be illegal in public parks, forests, historic sites and on other state-owned property.
The fine for a first-time violation is $250 and $500 for a second-time offense; If the law is violated for a third time a fine can run $1,000.
The new law was sponsored by Senate PresidentSteve Sweeney (D-Gloucester), Sens. Vin Gopal (D-Monmouth) and Bob Smith (D-Middlesex), and Assembly Members Vincent Mazzeo (D-Atlantic), Clinton Calabrese (D-Bergen), Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D-Bergen), and Paul Moriarty (D-Gloucester).
Despite the new law being signed 6 months ago it has yet to be worked out who will enforce it.